Shooting Information

Shooting Safety Rules. The FCoA rules for shooting safely can be downloaded here.

We recommend using gloves for handling straw bosses to minimise the risk of splinters, however this is not mandatory. 

Shooting Times
Outdoor 2022  Note: No cash, contactless payment only.
 
July Shooting Times – Monthly Round – Nationals

 

Saturday 2nd July – 1.30pm – Tom

Tuesday 5th July – 6.00pm - Ged

Saturday 9th July 1.30pm – Graham        

Tuesday 12th July – 6.00pm - Peter

Saturday 16th July 1.30pm – Chris  - Mid Summer shoot - National Rounds         

Tuesday 19th July – 6.00pm - Jayne

Saturday 23rd July 1.30pm – Keith

Tuesday 26th July – 6.00pm – Steve

Saturday 30th July 1.30pm – Jo

August Shooting Times – Monthly Round – WA720

Tuesday 2nd Aug – 6.00pm - Ged

Saturday 6th Aug 1.30pm – Tom

Tuesday 9th Aug – 6.00pm - Peter

Saturday 13th Aug 1.30pm – Graham           

Tuesday 16th Aug – 6.00pm - Jayne

Saturday 20th Aug 1.30pm – Chris

Tuesday 23rd Aug – 6.00pm – Steve

Saturday 27th Aug 1.30pm – Keith

Tuesday 30th Aug – 6.00pm – Ged

 

September Shooting Times – Monthly Round – Short Metrics

Saturday 3rd Sept – 10am – Jo

Saturday 10th Sept 10am – Tom

Saturday 17th Sept 10am – Graham

Saturday 24th Sept 10am – Chris

Shooting Fees

Adult Members

Outdoors - £2* per session (Zero if a Higher Fee Member)
Indoors £3* per session

*A 10p transaction fee will be added for contactless payment. Cash is not currently being accepted.

Juniors Members

£1* per session (up to a max of £2 per week)
Our week is Saturday to Friday

*as above​

Visiting Archers

Archers must be AGB members and your membership card must be shown on the first visit.

Please can visitors contact us before arriving so that we know to expect you via the contact us at the bottom of club information page.

Adults - £3 Outdoors / Indoors £4 (+10p transaction fee for contactless payment. Cash is not currently being accepted).
Juniors - £2.50 (+10p transaction fee for contactless payment. Cash is not currently being accepted).

Where We Shoot

Outdoors

​Syston Rugby Football Club, Barkby Road, Queniborough, Leicester LE7 3GD

Access - Turn off Barkby Road into the Rugby Club entrance, go past the club house and park in the angled parking bays.

Shooting takes place on Tuesday evenings and Saturday mornings from April until the end of September.

The outdoor ground can offer people any distances up to and including full gents rounds as required.

 

Field Captains and members can arrange extra shooting times (minimum of two archers attending). Grass cutting takes place on Tuesdays and Thursdays, weather dependant. Please make allowances for this if arranging shooting during the day time.

Arrows used outdoors must be detectable by metal detector along the entire length (except longbow wooden arrows).

 

Disabled access - The Rugby Club is grassed and flat.​

NO DOGS are allowed at the rugby club ground under any circumstances.​

Where We Shoot

 

Indoors

Wreake Valley Academy, Syston LE7 1LY

Shooting takes place on Tuesday Evenings and Saturday Afternoons from October to the end of March.

 

Access. Leave Melton Road at the mini roundabout and follow Parkstone Road to the Academy Gates (do not turn right for the leisure centre). Once through the gates follow the road around the school past the all weather football pitches and down the ramp to the gym and sports hall parking.  We shoot in either the Gym or the Sports Hall (both on ground level, do not go in to the Leisure Centre.

Disabled access - the site at Wreake is wheelchair friendly.

Tea and coffee are available on Saturdays, please remember to bring your own mug.

Visitors are most welcome to shoot with us, however please contact us first via the link at the bottom of the club info page as there are a limited number of bosses which could restrict visitor shooting.

Find us
WA18 singles (Medium).JPG
LRCAA champs 5 (Medium).JPG